Fish Pie on Film!

Midsummer nights, fresh breeze and delicate floral notes pulsating the senses, a peaceful place.

IMG_1118

Ah, upon a wave of ocean majesty, I caught a scent, saffron laced with herb notes glinting, and coral captivating, something delicious to cook…

A longed for Sailor’s supper…

A Feel Good Fish Pie…!

Today I’m sharing with you one of my absolute favourite recipes, my Feeling Food Fish Pie! It’s a firm favourite in our home. And for a change, I’ve recorded the recipe! I hope you like it; ) It was fun to film with my friends Julie and Claire, I know I’ve got a HUGE amount to learn, though I really enjoyed the process.

Happy Filming!
Happy Filming!

I’m inspired by Shakespeare, Tennessee Williams, Daniel Day-Lewis, Sean Penn, Dame Judi Dench, Jodie Foster, Helena Bonham Carter, but there are others too!

Delia Smith, Rusty Leigh, The Two Fat Ladies, Nigella Lawson, Nigel Slater, Keith Floyd, are all sources of inspiration.

I’m at a crossroads in life, pregnant with my third child, and wondering what the future holds? I know the mystery of life unfolds in precious moments, that become clearer in time. However, as anyone who cooks will know, if one has too many pots on the go, something gets burnt!

I enjoy writing for the lovely Families First Magazine, and after seemingly never-ending morning sickness, I’m happy to say cooking is once again a joy!!! Phew!!! Hopefully I will be writing regularly on my blog again.

The whole creative process reminded me of acting in a play, the sharing of ideas, the scripting, the planning, the experimenting, the preparation. the teamwork invloved… If you enjoy this, I’d love to hear your thoughts. There are a few mistakes and the odd bit I’d now do very differently, though isn’t that the beauty of learning? I’ve grown to celebrate the imperfect, the me that is me, acceptance has become an awesome teacher. THANK YOU!

We are all blessed and each person has something that is sacred and unique to them, with a little bit of understanding, patience and healing, may we all bloom brightly!

Here it is –

Please share and share again with anyone who likes fish, they’re sure to love this fish pie!!! My oldest son, whose not great with fish, classes this as one of his firm favourites.

Wherever you are, however you feel, I wish

Many Happy Summer Days to you!

Lots of love,

Sinead xxx

Feeling Food Fish Pie

SERVES 6

Saffron, 1 pinch infused overnight in 2 tbsp of boiling water

1kg floury potatoes, eg Maris Piper or King Edwards, peeled and cut into chunks

50g butter


Splash of milk


500ml fish stock 
100ml white wine 


Small bunch of parsley, separated into leaves and stalks

250g white fish fillets

250g salmon


250g smoked undyed smoked fish


250g large peeled prawns


1 leeks, topped and tailed and finely sliced

boiled eggs, 3 quartered

50g butter


50g brown flour


200ml double cream/ crème fraiche


Handful of brown breadcrumbs

PREPARE saffron by steeping in a couple of tbsps of boiling water and leave to infuse for at least 30 minutes.

PREHEAT oven to 180C GAS 4.

PUT potatoes in a large pan, cover with cold water, add a generous pinch of salt, and bring to the boil.

SIMMER for about 20 minutes, until cooked.

DRAIN and then mash with butter, milk and the saffron infused water. Season well and set aside.

PUT the fish stock, wine and parsley stalks into a large pan, and bring to a simmer.

ADD the fish, and simmer for five minutes, then lift out with a slotted spoon, remove the skins and any bones, and flake into an ovenproof dish, discarding the parsley stalks.

FOR THE SAUCE

MELT the butter in a medium pan over a low heat, and then stir in the flour. Cook, stirring, for a couple of minutes, being careful not to burn.

GRADUALLY stir in the stock. Bring to the boil, then simmer for about 20 minutes.

TAKE the sauce off the heat, stir in the double cream, parsley leaves and anchovies and season.

SCATTER the leeks over the fish.

POUR sauce into dish and smooth evenly over the fish with the back of a large spoon.

TOP with the mashed potato, then use a fork to make peaks which will crisp and brown as it cooks.

BAKE for 25 minutes, then sprinkle over the breadcrumbs and bake for a further 15, until the top is golden.

SERVE and savour amongst good company.

Leave a Reply

